Thinking about going gluten free? Do you have health concerns with gluten? Before you buy a gluten intolerance test, read our post to find out what key facts you need to know about gluten intolerances (whether you have it or you don’t).

1. Gluten is a protein

If you’ve heard propaganda for “gluten free and high protein” eating patterns, just know that gluten is actually a protein in of itself. So, if you’re trying to eat high protein, include gluten in the diet!

2. Gluten is found in wheat, barley and rye

Gluten is not equivalent to carbs. In fact, there are plenty of carb-containing foods that do not contain gluten! Only certain types of foods inherently contain gluten: wheat, barley and rye.

While you may have heard that oats contain gluten, oats naturally are gluten free until processing. Some oats may have exposure to gluten during processing whereas other oats do not. Always check the label!

3. Eating gluten free will not help you lose weight

To say the least, eating gluten free has become a buzz word in the weight loss world. Despite popular belief, eating gluten free alone will not help you lose weight. People who lose weight restrict their calories, exercise and eat healthy. There are many healthy foods that contain gluten, which we will discuss later in the post.

4. Not everyone has a gluten intolerance

Another myth that is circulating through the Internet is that a majority of people have a gluten intolerance, however, this is untrue.

5. Know the signs of a gluten intolerance

Ultimately, if you have a gluten intolerance, food intolerance symptoms will appear after gluten consumption. If you consume gluten daily, you may experience these symptoms daily!

6. Celiac disease is different than a gluten intolerance

Know how they differ by asking your doctor and confirming your risk when consuming gluten.

7. Make sure you know the obvious sources of gluten

Somewhat obvious sources of gluten include wheat, barley or rye bread, pasta, tortillas, croutons and crackers. Also, triticale, durum wheat, semolina, wheat starch, graham, farro and spelt contain gluten.

8. Make sure you know the not-so-obvious sources of gluten

Gluten can also be hidden in other foods. This is extremely important to know if you have a gluten allergy. Here is a list of possible hidden gluten food sources:

  • Malt products (i.e. flour, syrup, vinegar and flavoring)
  • Brewer’s yeast
  • Pastries, cookies, pies and cake
  • Cereals and granola products (granola bars)
  • Beer, lager, ales and malts
  • Chips and fries
  • Candy
  • Soup
  • Sauces
  • Seitan (a meat substitute)

9. Understand the marketing behind “gluten free” labeling

Refer to the lists above of foods that contain gluten. Some products (i.e. grapes) are labeled “gluten free” even though they inherently don’t ever contain gluten.

10. You can take a gluten intolerance test

Keeping the other things in mind, you could always take a gluten intolerance test to determine your reaction to gluten (whether null, mild or severe).